OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Station

I headed down, in bright sunshine, to South Ronaldsay. I have walked much of the area but only the north part as the lower reaches aren't served by the bus service, but it was such a good day that I splashed out and had a taxi take me from St Margarets Hope to Burwick near the south tip. It was foggy down there but I expected that it would burn off ( it didn't!). It was interesting around the desolate ferry terminal there with a couple of interesting derelict farmhouses and a very old cemetery. I walked along the coast in the cool of the fog, past the Skerries of Skaigram, Old Head and Ham Geo, then past the Tomb of the Eagles and up onto Halcro Head. There is a large blowhole in the clifftop ther ( a 'gloup') and, as I peered into its Stygian depths, a long eerie wail echoed out of the unseen. A bit spooky, that. The fog cleared a little and I saw what I thought is called a 'fogbow'.
I carried on to Woodwick, but the fog was getting even thicker, so I headed along the road and called the taxi to pick me up. More shots here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.