THE DRAGONFLY

still shaking, coming out of the shield what was the nymph.
I awoke rather early and since it will be our last day here for now, I did some chores and when I rested for a while, my inner voice said: why not go to the garden in town and see if anything had happened yet? I ponderes a bit but decided to go at once.
The two nymphes were still hanging at the same place. I discovered several more too. One under a waterlily leaf, another near where I stood and then I saw her, the newly born dragonfly, hanging quietly, her wings still wrinkled.
She hang on a place where I could sit down on the edge and try to take all kinds of pictures, from differents sides too.
I had to bend over and move very softly a stem away. After some time I had to go, or so I thought. I could not stay for hours let alone for days. I found it fascinating all the same.
At another spot I noticed now another drowned dragonfly and a nymph near her under water. So much to see and it is only a small pond.
We follow the news, the dead bodies of the crash are transported through The Netherlands and as we are looking we are shocked to hear that another plane has crashed, with many deadly victims. Again such very bad news and terribly sad times for other family and friends.

My haiku:

A pond full of life
And death too as it happens
Here and everywhere

And the proverb:

Forbid a thing, and that we will do.

c. 1386 in Chaucer, W. of Bath's Prol.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.