Porty People and Places

On your marks ...
Get set ...
G L A S G O W !

So began the BBC Scotland coverage of tonight's Commonwealth Games, Glasgow 2014.

I am preparing to watch the opening ceremony from the comfort of our study sofa. On the wall of this room is a framed poster given to me by the Canadian Team at Edinburgh's 1986 Games. I was one of the volunteers. Initially assigned to drive the sponsored Peugeot fleet of cars for the VIP's. When the somewhat chaotic organisers realised I was a teacher with a licence to drive minibuses I was promoted to the Canadian Team as one of their dedicated team drivers. I took their weightlifters to a training session at Dreghorn Barracks and have never heard the suspension of a brand new minibus groan so much. The next day I took the Canadian Ladies' Synchronised swimmers to their training pool at Rosyth. I was almost unaware I had fifteen feather light swimmers aboard. I was privileged to be invited into the finale of their training session for a very impressive private audience! No Facebook or Twitter in those days to sneak out any previews. I was made very welcome by the Canadian Team and privileged to drive them to and fro though out the Games. I now always support Canada at every event as a result of my honorary team membership back in 1986.

Go Canada Go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.