La vida de Annie

By Annie

El día de apertura de tienda

Back in 2009 I blipped this shop, saying that I´d like a business here. Not being a businesswoman by any means, this was of course just a pipe-dream. Since then however a lot has happened; surviving a near-death experience does tend to concentrate the mind somewhat, and I realised that if I wanted to achieve an ambition this was the time to go for it. I started looking around the island for premises to start a gallery and studio, and having looked at many too-expensive or unsuitable shops, last year I stumbled upon the very one I blipped 5 years ago - the one I said I wanted! The elderly therapist was retiring and was willing to drop the price drastically for a quick sale. That was fortuitous as a lot of structural work had to be done, including a new stone staircase into the cellars (now studios, storeroom and bathroom), and the place looked like a bombsite for some months. In keeping with the old usage of the place I have a reiki couch downstairs in case anyone should require a treatment (I also completed my Reiki Master Practitioner certificate before moving here in October), and have been practising with the studio equipment on friends and animals here.

Today is officially opening day, but it seems even the offer of free cava and nibbles hasn´t tempted many in yet. Early days though, and I have a few leads to follow up next week. After all, taking photos is not about sitting in a shop waiting to be approached, but rather getting out there and doing it. Wish me luck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.