Signature quilt

We went to a 64th birthday party for our friend J this afternoon. It was great fun with delicious food and a trivia game with questions from the 50s to the 2000s. M & J gave us the signature quilt they had made from fabric squares signed by the guests at our wedding reception. It's just so lovely, full of all the love our friends and family showered upon us that evening, and a work of art. Mary and I selected the fabrics at a wonderful quilt shop last fall. The women there assembled and stitched the finished product so expertly, it's just smashing! An heirloom.

Mary and I taught together and have a 40 year plus bond, a deep and wonderful friendship.

I come from a family that had many inherited quilts. The most special was a signature quilt made most probably for my great grandmother before her wedding in 1889. After my mother died, I donated it to the Historical Society in Lubec Maine. It was also a signature quilt. Amazingly, I also inherited a tintype of my great great grandmother and some of her sisters. One pictured sister has a square on the quilt, along with other relatives I heard my grandmother speak of. The story of the quilt and donation made it into a small book, with the quilt on the cover. Here's a Signature Quilt article where you can see it, . My great great grandmother, Wealthy(yes, that was her first name) Ellen Wormell Leavitt is the one in the straw hat in the tintype.

For the Record,
This day came in sunny with increasing humidity.

All hands healthy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.