The tranquil harbourside at Falmouth

It was another beautifully bright morning when we awoke in Falmouth. I was surprised that the noise of the seagulls which had been so loud last night had disappeared completely in the morning. Perhaps they had put out to sea with the fishing boats.

After breakfast I left Helena and Totty to attend a meeting with two people trying to start a neighbourhood plan in the local area, which is something I have been involved with at home for many months. Professor Mike Jenks and the local Town Clerk seemed to want to pick my brains for any help that might be applicable here in Falmouth and Penryn. We chatted for nearly two hours in an interesting local cafe and I think I was able to help, although the local situation has unique difficulties. I wish them luck in the months ahead.

I set off from the cafe on the old high street of Falmouth and immediately bumped into Helena and Totty who suggested we walk to the main harbour pier which was very close by. I really liked the proximity of the waterside to the town centre and revelled in being by the water with a camera and able to look back from the pier to the slopes of the town covered with its intricate melange of buildings and streets.

We stood talking on the quayside whilst I looked all around me at boats, ferries, people and the water everywhere. This view of the rear of some high street shops caught my eye, with the reflections of the walls and small boats and a man sitting quietly apparently enjoying the stillness too.

After a lovely lunch made by Totty we headed off on a forty mile trip to our destination at Polzeath just as the weather changed and rain began to fall. By the time we arrived at the north coast of cornwall the sun had returned and we quickly headed down to the beach and watched the surfers playing in the tumbling waters in the early evening light. It boded well for the week ahead!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.