Dérive

By oneD

The Slender Man

My Art series..........No 12/14
Ipad drawing based on an acrylic painting.


I used to walk in these woods a lot in Bradford 18 and one night at dusk it was full of police searching for a missing girl......I don't know if she was found but atmosphere was tense and urgent. I saw a more sinister aspect of the forest after that as sinuous forms, masks and faces seemed to leer towards hidden locations. Was Little Red Riding Hood swallowed up by the Wolf of Darkness or saved by the Rising Sun?

The slender figure also reminded me of a strange case in Wisconsin where two 12 year old girls stabbed a friend 19 times, after luring her into a forest, to gain the favour of a mythological online figure called 'The Slender Man'.

Much of the character of this also owes something to Edward Burra who is one of my favourite artists.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.