It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Like a pig in.....

It was the last day of our wee trip to Dinorwig and a bike ride had been half-planned. The legs were too tired from yesterday's exertions though so it was forgone for 90 mins longer in bed. A short walk was planned instead. John was going to come with us but his hired-hand arrived and they started working on laying a slate path.

We walked up to "the rock" which had disappeared under slate for a couple of hundred years, only only becoming apparent after the landscaping of the slate quarry. I went a wander but was delighted to find Rosemary with fresh wild raspberries in hand saying "see what I've picked for you?" on my return. They were yummy.

We then went up the hill a little and met some pigs who were foraging in a large fenced wooded enclave. They came over to the fence to say hello and I found myself speaking to a large brownish hog for five minutes. It was fascinating to see how it's snout moved, especially to get a whiff of me.
She them noticed a big juicy root and then started tugging it out the ground for a better chew.

Seeing the pigs behave as evolution had designed them too reinforced why R n I are veggies. These beautiful creatures are clearly intelligent and have feelings. I don't think eating meat is wrong, per-se....but animals should be treated with respect and not be farmed using industrial methods. It's impossible to produce both cheap and ethical meat so I think it should be a real treat rather than part of the everyday diet.

After a quick lunch, John drove us to Bangor for our train and the end of our wee break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.