194 Great North Road

Today I was the only doctor in the Liaison team. One consultant colleague is on leave, and the other is at the University on Wednesdays, as was one of the registrars (for her training). The other is on study leave for his coming exams. So the old fella, who trained before many of those I work with were born, managed the service for the day, supported by a great team of nurses.

I don't think that I have had a boring day. I need to rephrase that. My work never bores me. What I mean is that almost every day, there is something very different, and challenging. And I end the day feeling energised and positive about what we have been able to do.

At the end of today I walked along Great North Road to collect Mr H from after school (his school is down a side street towards the gully where the Northwestern Motorway runs away from - or to, depending on your perspective - the city). Young L has his Hip Hop dance lesson on a Wednesday after school and doesn't need collecting.

Why, I could be asked, does a 10 year old need collecting from school? Its certainly not far to walk, and there is a pedestrian crossing over Great North Road. I have more than once seen drivers accelerate their cars through the red light rather than stop. And most scary was at another pedestrian crossing at an intersection where a driver went through a red-light fast around the corner as a three year old and her mother were just stepping off the kerb. The mother was still trembling as we reached the other side. That's why.

Middle Earth Tiles make great tiles, a selection of which can be seen below the window. This is where we bought the tiles for the nooks in the entry to the beach house, and from where we were put in touch with the tiler (Chris) who had worked with Hundertwasser during the years the great man was in New Zealand. (Mr H found his own way to use one.)

Another image from Great North Road

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.