not seeing straight

By jaybroek

Time to think

Another day out! Work, you are too kind to me.

This time it was in Lewes. Yes, that Lewes. The East Sussex one. It turns out its a relatively quick jaunt down from Gatwick so didn't seem so daft - until the Edinburgh-Gatwick flight got itself heavily delayed.

So with the deftness of a seasoned traveller I swapped onto an imminent London City flight, believing the tfl website and its optimistic journey times.

I hadn't reckoned on the queues at Victoria station ticket machines and the time it takes a clutch of backpacking non-native speakers to work through Southern railways myriad of ticketing offerings for a trip to Brighton...

So... finally I watched Gatwick airport station go sweeping past at about the time I'd have landed if I'd got on the delayed flight... hmmm...

But I got there in the nick of time and demonstrated my worth as you might imagine with urbanity and witticisms in spades.

And then had numerous beers forced upon me by an upbeat boss so something good came out of it....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.