Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Dragons in the garden...

If I am correct in my identification of this rather beautiful little dragon, it's a new one for me. I am 99% sure that it is a female Band-winged Meadowhawk (Sympetrum semicinctum, bringing the number of different meadowhawk species I've seen to three (all having shown up in my journal at one time or another). It's quite small, probably only about 1.5 inches and the male would be much redder than this one.

Anyhoo... this had to be my blip since it's a new dragon for me. And, heck, she's so pretty, how could I NOT blip her? My five other favorite shots from today (all in the garden) are posted starting here with a young titmouse being fed by it's parent (a total "awwww" moment). Fourth shot is of a young male hummer with his first couple of red gorget feathers showing.

I'm off to the airport by late morning tomorrow, so I'll probably give you a quick hummingbird in the morning. Can't wait to wrap my arms around Hubs and give him a great big kiss! One more sleep...

Thanks for sending my swallowtail to the spotlight - a delight, as always.

Happy Thursday, people...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.