But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Wrong Famous Person.

I'm way behind with postings at the moment, you know how it goes at this time of the year: holidays, housework, cycling, relatives visiting, and then, watching the Commonwealth Games. So it's now the end of July and I blipped this six weeks ago. I really feel that I ought to post this before the Games are over - that just leaves me a couple of days.

There was a lot of razzmatazz associated with the "Queen's Baton Relay," "No Parking" notices on all the lamp posts, excited gossip about who would carry the thing, discussion about the route it would take and and culminating in loads of eager people with cameras milling about during the morning. The blip is of the hand-over from a local youth to a Famous Person; you can tell he's famous because of everybody wanting his photograph and you can just see the youth's hand on his shoulder. A few seconds after I took this, the official photographers in the back of the van with big expensive cameras on big expensive tripods started shouting at the plebs to get out of the way. I wonder if the vibration from the engine shook the cameras and gave them fuzzy images.

One comment remained on everybody’s lips after it was all over, “I thought it was going to be the other Brian Cox (meaning the handsome young physicist, not the middle aged actor)”.

I managed to steal one of the “No Parking” signs as a souvenir, they won’t want them until the Queen's Baton Relay comes round again on the 16 June 2014 .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.