Random Memories # 1 .........

........ this one from Sunday, 12th November 1978 (my Mum's birthday).

(a photo of a photo taken at the time)

During my on-going clear out I found some old newspaper cuttings and photographs and thought it may be nice to put some in my journal to look back on and remember. (I hope you don't think this is too self-indulgent).

Back in the day I was a very tidy little dart player and represented both Yorkshire and Nottinghamshire over a period of ten plus years - I also used to travel a lot to play in competitions (Spain, Channel Islands and all over the UK) with varying amounts of success.

This photo was taken after the Sun Marlborough Mixed Doubles Darts Championships held at the old Wembley Conference Centre, London and appeared in our local paper.

I partnered another Yorkshire player, Bob Crosland from Pontefract and we played in the local play-offs, the Yorkshire play-offs and finally the North of England play-offs to win through to the last 128 pairs in London.
According to the newspaper cutting I still have there were 33,000 pairs entered initially.

We won all our matches 2 - 0 on the day before being finally beaten, 2 - 1, by Welsh Internationals John Reynolds and Liz Williams and we placed fifth overall - with the eventual winners being outsiders Brian Morris and Irene Kendrick from Gloucester (I wonder where they are now?)

As well as the silver cup, the money (£50 worth today around £275) and the pictured (advertising) T-shirt we were also given engraved silver medallions .....

Hard to believe it's 36 years ago - I remember it so well - and my hair was halfway down my back and dark - where did all the years go???

Have I changed that much???



Thank you very, very much for all the comments, stars and hearts given to Shadow yesterday - he sends a great big heartfelt woof and many tailwags.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.