The second half of life..

By twigs

Power-less

Home late after work.

Dropped bags etc, closed curtains, prepped fire then went out to get kindling. Just about to step inside the house with an arm full of kindling hwen there was a significant 'bang' and a flash which I swore came from my house.

The lights didn't go out but they were all dimmed to about 5-10% of their normal brightness......there were strange buzzing sounds......the tv flickered on and off......

I became very worried that an electrical problem in an old wooden house had the potential to burn the whole place to a cinder in next to no time.

Looking around at the neighbours it seemed that they all had lights on so it seemed to me that the problem was at my place.......Quick.......find a 24/7 electrician....yea, right! Actually, in fairness, I did find one, but he couldn't come immediately as he was at a polytech course.

90 minutes later, at about 9.30, he did arrive. By this time I had no power at all. Blackness. His first comment? "I think I've found the problem". He pointed over the road towards where a bunch of workmen surrounded a power box, one was scaling a power pole, several were pointing, talking...... He went over and talked to them......seems that something in the box had shorted out and put out a few houses. I looked around and sure enough, all the neighbours were in blackness too. Strange. It was going to take a few hours to fix so no chance of any light nor much else tonight. Bed early but not before grabbling a blip of Bene illuminated only by the flames from the fire.

And that was Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.