Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Visual Flight Fancy

To say it gave me a chill is an understatement...we arrived home last night after a long long drive home (traffic was horrendous). When I woke up this morning, the one thought on my mind was to go see the eagle that had fledged while I was absent...I wanted to see him fly with my own eyes. I know that sounds crazy, but after watching him for days the story wasn't complete without the visual.

I got there late (by my usual standards of arriving at 6AM) and luckily he was perched, but hadn't done much. So I sat and waited with my camera trained on him...believe me, that's not easy to do for a long time:) The other folks that were also watching his every move, stood and talked, often greeting the many passerby's who stop to ask what we are doing, ha! (GOOD QUESTION!!) But, I was intent on this photo, so I didn't talk much, and kept my finger poised for the shot.

Time went by...several hours to be exact, while I became more sure that any moment he would bolt...and finally he did, while everyone else was talking. I got a great succession of shots of him gliding down from his perch! What a moment to behold, even if I was a week late.

It is thought that any day now he will head north with his parents...and I am so grateful that he waited for me to see him today!

For more photos of the day, visit my flickr page....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.