THE SEA-HUTS AT HOOK OF HOLLAND BEACH

After a busy (again) morning, in not all too good mood, I cycled in the splendid weather along the dunes cycle path, with most of the time view at the blue sea, till I reached Hook of Holland beach. Once in a year at least I love to see the laughing eyes of the white and blue huts build on the sand of the beach. At this time of the year many are occupied with families who like to be very near the water.
It is great to leave the apartment for some hours since the floors are nearly all covered with boxes and books. There is progress, huge indeed, but before all will be at the right place it nearly gives me headaches.
The pink painting done, but the (red, still to be painted) bookcase that I had suggested would fit in a corner of the room, we found out that I had measured it all wrong. Made me smile, a lot.
Tomorrow asks for a more relaxed day, or so I hope. It is really summer-time and before long the season will change towards autumn.

My haiku:

Could only all houses
Smile and look out over the
Blue sea and the surf

And the quotation from Mark Twain in his Notebook, 1935:

We laugh and laugh. Then cry and cry - / Then feebler laugh, then die.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.