youngies journey

By youngie66

Zipping Along The Water

Well day off time today and I was originally going down to Penrith today but have put that trip off to next week when I'm off all week anyway I decided to head up to the Trossachs and started by stopping off at Lake of Menteith Scotland's only lake which I believe was a mistake by Dutch Cartographers many years ago they mispelt it when drawing up the map anyway Lake Menteith is where they hold curling in the winter if the Lake is frozen enough and as you may know most curling stones are quarried from Ailsa Craig just off the coast of Ayrshire near Turnberry, after taking a few snaps there I headed to Loch Katrine and took some shots of the SS Sir Walter Scott steamship along with the other boat The Lady Of The Lake and did a 6 mile round trip walk along the northern shore path I got talking to an eledrly gent originally from Maybole in Ayr but he stays in South Queensferry now he was around 80 but still in good fettle so we walked back towards the car park and he stopped at a bench for his wee flask of coffee a nice wee bench with a cracking view looking up at Ben Venue then I headed through towards Callander before heading north to Lochearnhead and drove along towards St Fillans which is not far from this shot I took of a water skier being towed behind the speed boat on Loch Earn the one bad thing that happened today which really wasn't the old guys fault but everytime we stopped so he could rest I got chewed alive by those damn pesky Midgies scratching just about every part of my body where when I was walking they were not attacking me oh well I guess I should have wore long trousers rather than shorts and polo shirt I'm still scratching myself now even typing this up at almost ten at night anyway it was a good day out one day I will try the cruise up that loch or some of the other gorgeous cruises around Scotlands lochs and Islands always better when your with someone as well,but it was a nice day apart from one big heavy downpour just as I arrived at Loch Katrine so after that it was all good anyway movie for the day is dedicated to those pesky midgies and is called "Sratch 2001" Looks good LARGE as well See Ya

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.