The second half of life..

By twigs

HMNZS Rotoiti

It's not everyday that one of the Navy's ships comes into port and invites people on board froa look around so when I heard HMNZS Rotoiti was here doing just that I went and had a look around.

Interesting if somewhat unspectacular. I always imagine Navy ships to be massive beasts but this one is just 55m in length. Pretty small really.

There wasn't a great deal to actually see although the 5 minutes I spent up on the Bridge was interesting - so much technology, so many butons, dials and levers and so little headroom!

The ship's bell stood out as a beautiful piece amongst what felt like quite a sterile environment. I guess they have to be very business-like in their dealings.

Otherwise, my greatest achievemnet today is managing to avoid touching the pile of marking that is waiting for me :( Tomorrow is a whole new day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.