Mr C Lives for a Day

By P

Pushing through the walls

Very unproductive day. Got nothing done. Aches and strains were the order of the day. Two hours of ultimate frisbee yesterday is to blame. First came the pleasure and now here comes the pain.

I am obese. I have, for the last five months, been losing weight to correct this. 42 lbs. gone, 57 still to go. Not even half way there. I'm far from despondent though. You see, I have momentum on my side. The pounds are droppinng off me at a steady and safe rate. It is the rate of change over time that is the key. My mass is just a number, it doesn't tell anyone much about what direction I'm heading in. Losing 2-3 pounds every week - now that's information I can use. Armed with such knowledge, I will gladly get whipped at ultimate frisbee by those far fitter and more able than me and look rather stupid doing so. I will go out jogging around The Meadows in the freezing cold and rain, panting and stopping every minute to catch my breath, wearing old sports clothes that are either too big or too small on me - looking a right numpty. I do this because I know it is getting me to where I need to be. Because I know that in another five or six months, as long as I keep pushing through the walls that get in my way, I'll reach my goal and be at a normal and healthy weight for the first time in my adult life.

Five or six months to go. Sometimes I can't stand the wait.

Toodle-pip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.