Curry night

Today's the day ...................... to make excuses

I was supposed to be doing all sorts of things this afternoon - including weeding the allotment - but I did none of them.

That's because I got waylaid by the idea of just looking at the website ScotlandsPeople. Ever since I have been retired, I have promised myself that I will get back to doing some family history research. Before I knew what was happening, about three hours had gone by - and it was far too late to think about going out anywhere.

Supper tonight was a chicken curry - but that was really just an excuse to try out the mango chutney that I made yesterday. Here's the recipe just in case you are as easily diverted as I am and fancy having a go .........................!


Mango chutney

Ingredients
4 large mangoes, peeled, stoned and sliced
salt
4 cloves garlic, peeled and crushed
450g/1lb caster sugar
2 baking apples, peeled, cored and chopped
1 tbsp English mustard powder
1 tbsp grated fresh root ginger
600ml/1 pint white wine vinegar
1 tbsp cayenne pepper

Method
1. Put the mango slices in a large bowl and sprinkle with salt. Leave
overnight. In the morning, drain off the juice and rinse the fruit.
2. Put the garlic, sugar, apples, mustard, ginger, vinegar and cayenne
pepper in a pan and, over a low heat, dissolve the sugar.
3. Bring to the boil and add the mangoes. Simmer for 30 minutes until
the chutney is thick and syrupy. Spoon into sterilised jars and seal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.