Sorrow

Day for leaving for birds, I quess.

Our budgie father Santtu died at 3am in the night. He had been in very good shape after the accident earlier. My daughter noticed in the evening, though, that he is not looking too well, feathers not in order, looking poor somehow. He was 10 years old and just had some disoriented feeling a moment before he died on the bottom of the gage. So sad morning for us all.

We made a decicion to leave the mum budgie and adult children budgies free for the day to negotiate if there will be some family to live in same gage again. As we came home they all three were sitting happily in bigger gage. Remains to be seen, if mother will be the third wheel or real part of the family.

Later my son came home by the bus and told the swan family was eating near the shore. Some shots here, Also from the evening....

...as I drove to local supermarket, I saw the whooper swan family flying over the lake. The juveniles tested their wings and suddently the father took off and left flying towards south. Soon mother bird took off too with the juveniles, but only the oldest one follower her to south. In the end two youngest swans (in the blip) turned back to the home lake. I hope they will find their way now without the adults!

I must admit that this has been bit of a sad day. Somehow melancholic feeling comes every time as swans leave us - even though I know that Stuart and you other blipfriends take good care of them in England and UK during our cold winter of course, and we have agreed that the swans always come back in april...

Still.

End of an era for Santtu the budgie.
End of summer for us and the swan family.

But the life goes on. Let's enjoy the moment.
I have sauna warming up, rainy day and evening, only +14c. I bought one can of beer to hubby who soon comes from work.

Susanna:)

ps thanks a lot for the stars and comments lately! Sunday morning stars was a true hit! ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.