Exploring

I awoke this morning to mouse screaming. Wesley, the darling, is continuing what I have now named 'The Torturing of the Mice'. This time he ate the head and the tail (last time it was just the tail). I took a photo and was going to blip it, but want sure if it would offend, so I didn't.

Instead you have a shot of a Bonnington Water Wheel. I've decided to start Pilates classes again and Debbie, my old instructor, is helping me with my feet as part of them. The studio is on Newhaven Road and as I was a little early for the class, I went to explore down a nearby cobbled street. I hadn't expected this to be at the end. I used to work around the corner from here and had no idea this was here!

So apparently Bonnington (Bonny Toon) was a little village that marked the boundaries between the towns of Leith and Edinburgh. Lying on a flat plain, the area here, next to the Water of Leith, was perfect for milling.

This Water Wheel is the only surviving wheel out of the dozens that used to power mills along the Water of Leith. It was used to mill grain, weave cloth, tan leather and manufacture paper. Really interesting stuff, I'm pleased I went on a cobbled lane exploration!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.