A Thinker

I turned right onto a country road, and there were 3 turkey buzzards having "brunch." The meal was badly decomposed, but I'm guessing squirrel.

Who wins the standoff in the road? The 6-7 pound buzzard, or my 3,072 pound truck? The birds retreated to a nearby tree, not wanting to give up their feast.

I inched forward to get a closer shot. Twice. They let me take several pictures before flying off.

The thinker. What is he/she thinking? Do the three of them "talk?"

"Have you soared in any good thermals lately?'

"No, but it's getting cold enough that I wish I had me a nice pair."

"Did you raise a brood this year?"

"I thought about it, but...you know what? I HATE the whole regurgitation thing. (Heating up.) Baby robins leave after 16 days!!! WHY DO OUR CHICKS STAY FOR 10 WEEKS? WHAT IS MY NAME...VICKY VOMIT?"

"Have you had any of that deer over in the state park? Nothing quite like venison."

"Nah, I hate it when it gets overcooked...when it goes past the point of putrefaction. Fresh or nothing for me."

One last buzzard question.

"Why are we always lumped together with the word carrion?"

"I don't know. Isn't that what travelers take onto the airplanes? CALL IT WHAT IT IS! Road kill."

There you have it. Buzzard blah-blah-blah, turkey talk, the verse of the vulture.

A few other shots are on MY FLICKR PAGE. I wanted to use the sand hill cranes, but they wouldn't pose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.