The Pony Ride

As I was growing up I developed a deep and abiding love for horses. As a child one of my favourite sets of books was a collection of “Thelwell’s Ponies”.
Thelwell is regarded as the unofficial artist of the British countryside and is possibly the most popular cartoonist in Britain, since the Second World War. He commented on many aspects of human behaviour, but he is perhaps most synonymous with little girls and their little fat ponies. They have helped to ensure his continuing popularity and his immortality.
I found a Thelwell pony at our Farmers’ Market today. His young owner was busy giving pony rides to small children. The looks on their faces as they were lifted up on to the pony’s saddle were magical. I photographed little Hope aged two having her first ever pony ride. I love the way the pony’s owner was so caring and protective of her young charge. Who knows this experience today may set little Hope up for a lifelong love of ponies and horses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.