Parc Slip memorial.

It was an early start to the day as we had to be at Parc Slip by 8 o' clock. On August 26th, 1892, the day when Bad King Coal claimed one hundred and twelve miners lives, at Parc Slip. It was one of the South Wales coalfield worst disasters, and my great grandfather was one of the victims. We go every year to the memorial. In the photo you can see the 112 twelve stones , which represent the 112 men and boys who lost their lives on that sad day. It took two months to recover the last body, and nearly 60 years before the fund supporting dependants was closed. My great grandfather was 21 when he died, and his wife Annie, gave birth to my grand father, one week after his death. He was named after his father, Edward Albert Humphries. It was very wet this morning ,and it would have been so tempting to stay in bed, but i thought what choice did he have on that fateful morning. He would have had no choice but to go to work whatever the weather. When we arrived this morning, there was a new face there, with a microphone, from BBC Radio Wales. He asked me if he could have a chat with me, as i am a direct descendant. It may be aired this afternoon on the radio.
There wasn't such a good turnout as last year, but the weather was to blame for that. After a few minutes silence to remember the tragedy we walked back to the reserve centre and had a coffee and some toast. Since we got back the weather has cleared!
~~~~~~~~
** I have just heard my interview this morning on Radio Wales. I cannot believe it was me. My two minutes of fame! **



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.