The Park Slip Memorial.

 Those of you that have been following my journal for more than a year, will know that I  blip this scene every year. I usually take a photo of all the people that attend, standing in front of the 112 stones, but as you can see, this morning ,the rain was torrential. We were up very early, as we had to be there about 8 o'clock, as the disaster happened about twenty minutes past eight on August 26th 1892. We had to walk about a mile and a half to get to the stones, and we got soaked. Each one of the 112 stones in the monument, represents the 112 men that perished underground on that fateful day. My great grandfather was one of those miners that died on the explosion. He was body number 54 to be brought to the surface. He was only 21 years old, and his name was Edward Albert Humphries. My grandfather was born a few days after his death. It would have been so easy to have stayed in bed this morning, but I feel it is my duty to attend this memorial service every year in his honour. The Mayor Of Bridgend was there, and got out of his chauffeur driven car at the last minute. It turned out that J and he  went to school  together. When the short service was over ,we walked back to the car, and we were  cold and wet, We came home and had breakfast, and then I went down the gym. I did some shopping in town ,and caught the bus home. I am feeling a bit tired now, Check out my extra photos. You can see J walking back to the car, and how wet it was. As soon as we got home, the sun came out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.