What to do . . .

. . . when you have so many shells you can’t carry them? Grandma’s pockets come in handy at times like this.


Poppies

I have been overwhelmed by the response for my Poppies blip yesterday, and sadly on an evening and a day when I have had no opportunity to reply or comment. I think at one point it was almost in top Spotlight position. I say I was overwhelmed by the number of thoughtful comments and hearts that cascaded down on the picture, but actually I should not have been surprised. It is far more the event itself that has touched people so deeply, rather than my picture. I just happened to be there and take a picture from an angle that shows a little of the true spectacle of it.

If I had realised that it would get that kind of response, I would have been a bit more helpful in explaining a little of what was happening. However, it was posted in haste in between everything else that was going on and I had no time to add anything or reply to anyone.

Some explanation for those who would like itthis link should tell you everything, but suffice here to say that the proper title of the artistic installation is ‘Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Red’ and the idea is to fill the dry moat of the Tower of London with 888,246 poppies, one for each British and Colonial fatality during the First World War. The ceramic poppies are for sale, with the proceeds going to Service charities. The first poppy was planted on 17 August and it will not be complete until 11 November.

To the observer it is the most amazing sight. Because the ceramic poppies are on wire, which is more or less invisible, the poppies appear to float and the way they are ‘planted’ creates waves. In parts a wire structure lifts them up and thus the cascades appear. It is truly mesmerising and thought-provoking. One of the most wonderful things I have ever seen.

It is well worth anyone, who possibly can get there, seeing it, but those who can’t should keep a watch on Blip as I’m sure it will be photographed over and over again as the installation develops. Suinlondon has been logging some of its progress over the last few weeks for example.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.