Ships

The day started well when I was standing on the station platform watching my train pull in and realised I was getting a cheery wave from the driver! Hadn't seen youngie for ages, although since he was at the end of his shift he remarked that we were a bit like ships passing in the night. However, he pointed out that Mrs Youngie was just getting on the train at the other end to start her shift and she invited me back to sit in first class where she kindly gave me a croissant and we were able to have a brief but wide-ranging natter about work schedules, alarm clocks, Reiki in Leith and the referendum.

It all went a bit downhill after that - various things not happening that should or happening in the wrong order and a couple of unconnected emails so stupid in content that I'm perplexed how to answer them without appearing rude....

Home to a nice tea cooked by himself. Afterwards we had a wee stroll round the block and I noticed the nice reflection of the ship (of The Ship). Hmm, it might be time to re-read the Patrick O'Brian novels.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.