Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Knicker thief!

Another day with the two burly chaps huffing and puffing at my front door. I have to keep Archie out the back, as he desperately wants to see what they're doing. Especially as one of the chaps just loves him and makes a big fuss of him at every opportunity. And I'm sure the burly chaps do not want little doggie footprints on their nice new concrete, although, of course, it wouldn't really matter, as the tiles will go on top of this.

So Archie and I have been sitting out in the back garden. Well, I've been sitting, reading my Kindle, but mostly watching Archie, who has been sniffing every single inch of the back garden. Twice. He's pretty good at not chomping on the flowers now, but I don't want him poking in the flower border at all - therein lies danger - slugs, snails, red berries and poisonous plants. And so I've been shouting, 'No!' when he steps into it. He ignores me, so I have to go to him and make sure he knows that I mean it.

He also likes to suddenly find a piece of grass fascinating, and will pull up a lump, making a wee hole and then start digging. This is to be discouraged.

At one point, he found a pair of knickers (presumably blown off the washing line) and went charging round triumphantly for ages, often with his front leg tangled up in them. Very funny. I chose this photo (sorry for the rubbish quality - he was so fast) because it shows the sheer joy of being chased round with an illicit pair of knickers. Much more fun than a proper toy, obviously.

I think, possibly, in the future, then maybe, just maybe, if he's sensible, then the fence around his bit could be removed and he could have the whole back green. Perhaps.

Oops. I sound like a politician promising the world if I'm sensible and vote correctly ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.