...........a sunny disposition?...........

Not me last night...........and only slightly more so tonight.

Left work bang on 3.30 yesterday...........home........changed and out........Dentist appointment at 4.30 and coaching at 5.30.

Arrived at the dentist at 4.25..........someone in the surgery.....a woman with two kids and another woman with a kid in reception............so no chance of my appointment being on time. Hey-ho, but not unusual.

Listening to the two females it became apparent that they had both rung for emergency appointments earlier in the day............4.45 still waiting......4.50 another female leaves the surgery........followed by the dentist to whom she is saying......."I'm so grateful that you could see me at such short notice."

She doesn't pay up and leave........she takes a seat in reception.......so obviously she's going back in!

The Dentist looks at me and mumbles an apology.........but promises to be with me soon.....the woman with the two kids goes into the surgery......now, our dentist always leaves his door open............so I can hear what's going on....the two kids have check ups and one has a tiny filling.......they leave at 4.55.

The other mum takes her child in........again I can hear.......nothing is done........it's an argument between the mother and the Dentist........something about an orthodontist..........and moving to another dentist...........and not paying.......and not wanting her daughters information (records?) sent to the new dentist.................they leave at 5.10.

The other female then goes back in..........another woman turns up with a couple of kids..........on the wall is a poster quite prominently displaying the surgery times..............it's supposed to have closed at 5.00

The sound of drilling and gurgling........she emerges ...........pays and leaves........I eventually get into the chair at 5.20............50 minutes late.........and then the fun starts........" Right-o 1 filling and a crown fitted Mr. G!"........er......no...it's two fillings and a crown.....it says so quite clearly on my treatment plan......."Oh yes, but on a second look you only need one filling"...................and off we go........the crown is unwrapped..........and put in my mouth......and then " Er....the crown doesn't fit........the lab must have made it too long"...........so it's not that my gum was cut back.......and then the fitting was cancelled and rescheduled for 4 days later......the gum hasn't grown back?.............."Oh no, the lab have made it too big".......drilling, pushing , pulling.......an attempt to use the drill to shorten the crown.......and then......."Well I can force it to fit.......but I'll not be happy with that because I'll know it's not right"............and so will I now you've told me that!

"Tell you what...........I'll do the filling......and then fit the post.......take some more impressions and get a new crown made.....and you can come back in a week"!.......and off he goes..........injection.....filling, started before the novacaine had fully worked.....................post in...glue............and then " O.k that's you, I'll see you in a week...and sorry that it's a tad late."........er no....you're not leaving me with a post sticking up out of an empty socket!........."Oh, yes, forgot about that.....and eventually the post was covered by a temporary "something"...........out of the chair at 6.25!...................and then the final straw......"Er....you wouldn't mind paying the remainder of the cost now would you?"............er.....yes I bloody would mind!

Back in the car....a message from the Boss on my phone........phone doctor immediately a problem with your blood test............so I did........." Thank you Mr.G, the doctor would like to do a telephone consult tomorrow about the results of your whole blood test........sometime after 2.00"

Coaching...with a sore face.....home....told the Boss about the call.........she's a nurse......"It must be something to do with the cells, if it's the whole blood test.......maybe the white cell count is up.....it can't be sugar, or fats or cholesterol, or kidney function if it's the whole blood results"

Slightly twitchy all night............didn't sleep well...slightly twitchy at work.............and so was hebs...........she was the only one I told apart from the Boss...........and I could see in her eyes she was worried.

2.30....phone rang.........the doc.........."About your blood tests......sugar is ok, fats are ok. kidney function no worries..........red cells fine"........and I'm waiting for the next line with trepidation...."white cells absolutely fine...but your cholesterol is up by 0.3 ...would you like a prescription for some statins to bring it down over the next three months"? I bit my tongue.............or she would have had a huge earful of words beginning with f, b, t and b again! I calmly pointed out that she was comparing results from a fasting sample six months ago...........with a non-fasting sample this time...........she didn't know that the nurse....when I booked the appointment........had said I didn't need to fast for 10 hours before the test!

So that's why I was too angry/worried to blip last night...........and why I'm still not Mr. Happy tonight!

Das vidanya moy padruga

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.