LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

The Hat Trick

This has certainly been a day to remember.
We had a two hour tour of the Pyramids and the Sphinx on camel back, and despite the rigours of the rolling gait, I managed to stay on. This was good news!

Getting on a camel is more difficult than you might think if you have short legs. Remember the dreaded horse in the gym and you get the idea.
Our guide Mohammed 'no problem' but with two wives who obviously were not troublesome was on hand to give me lift up and when I say lift, I mean heave.
It was certainly an experience especially on the downhill inclines, and when they sat down or got up, but I'm happy to report there were 4 of us counted out and 4 of us returned.

This evening we went for a relaxing cruise on the Nile with a bottle of wine and some fruit. The sun set and all the clamour of Cairo was left behind with just the other feluccas and their red sails as company. It was all so atmospheric.

Then it was into a nearby Italian restaurant for a meal before his Lordship and I decided there had been enough excitement for our first day in Egypt.
We were so grateful to David and Larissa for smoothing our passage throughout the day. I know we would have been lost without them.

The camel seemed pleased with the honour of wearing David77's beenie hat

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.