Two Bob Watch

I cannot remember a time when something which was shonky and destined to fall to bits without notice was NOT freely compared to a hypothetical "two bob watch". "Strewth mate. I wouldn't trust him/her/it. He/she/it would be about as reliable as a two bob watch." ... and so the conversation went ... point made!

Of course decent watches were always expensive from the earliest times. They were family heirlooms, purchased from high class jewellery shops and were awarded to employees of many years standing. It was our own family tradition that "when the children reached 14" they'd be given a wristwatch by grandfather ... something to look forward to - as indeed it was.

Aaaaanyway, I hadn't worn an actual wristwatch in years. They always seemed to be an irritation around the wrist, they scratched things - or else WERE scratched. Besides I had a mobile phone which showed the time ... right? The trouble is that during shows and events at the community centre, where I often run light and sound, mobile phones have to be turned off - which (in my case at least) means I never know what the time is. So I went looking for a cheap watch that wouldn't be too uncomfortable but would provide me with the time of day when I couldn't use my phone.

Voila. I got this apparently perfectly reliable (so far) quartz watch at Target the other day. $9.83!!! Don't look now but near as I can figure, counting inflation from the time I was 14, what you see before you IS the actual "TWO BOB WATCH".

I am still a bit shaky and dizzy with the flu but at least I can now summon sufficient interest to find some harmless indoor still life subject for a blip. In any event thank you all very kindly for your most welcome expressions of sympathy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.