Dante's missing circle

I spent my morning at the Zollamt (customs).

The letter arrived over the weekend saying there was something to collect, and I should go to the arse end of Essen with paperwork to prove payment in order to actually possess the item.

1st problem, despite the fact that they've clearly opened the parcel and therefore know what's inside, the only clue the paperwork gives is that the parcel originated in China.... now I am the queen of shopping and the DHL man is a regular visitor (close friends with the dog) and so to state that a parcel has come from China is no help.

2nd problem, the world and his dog clearly got Zoll notifications over the weekend and the offices are only open until 12:30, the queue was immense.

I spent over an hour in that hellhole, the only good thing was that once I'd managed to prove I'd paid for the item (thankfully they accept email evidence sent from the corridor outside the office) I was able to take it without having to pay anything extra, I just lost two hours from my life that I will never get back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.