Keeping them out

I thought it was an opportune moment to blip Carlisle Castle, as it has played a major role in English and Scottish history. It was first built in 1092 when William Rufus came north and took Carlisle back from the Scots. In the centuries after this it was the scene of much feuding over the English-Scottish border. It was the base for Edward I’s campaign to suppress the Scots; It was where Mary Queen of Scots was kept under house arrest and it was a prison for Jacobite soldiers.

So I was just hoping that we don’t see it brought back into use as border control.

Mind you, as I took this photograph I was standing on the opposite side of the extremely busy dual carriageway that is part of the City Ring Road. And I was thinking that today it might be easier to storm the castle than it would be to cross over the road to get to the city itself. It would just need the underpass to be blocked and the invaders wouldn’t stand a chance!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.