My Own Private Astrantia

Ever since falling in love with the ethereally beautiful flowers of an Astrantia plant at the farmers’ market, I’ve wanted one of my own.

Yesterday morning I fulfilled that desire, buying both a white Astrantia and one that will have pink flowers. The former has some end-of-season small blossoms, and this morning they clearly met the approval of this bee, who was avidly available herself of their bounty. You can see a full side view of her on my Blipfolio.

I was spoilt for choice today, as there was also a magnificent orange and gold-striped spider who not only had put up a large web nearby, but also had caught a bald-faced hornet and wrapped it up tidily for later consumption.

In the next couple of days, I need to plant the two Astrantias and the three Echinaceas that have been living on the front porch, as they need to settle in for winter, but I'll sorely miss the daily dramas that go on in these small worlds!

[In case you missed it yesterday, Peter May kindly put Phil and me on his [url=http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/4770888]Saturday[/url] blip. We’re still glowing from the pleasure of meeting him and his wife, and hearing how he came to write his Lewis trilogy!]

Blip 1036

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.