At George Airport

At our tiny, yet sufficient airport, it is displayed on an FNB tower that the Fifa World Cup Championships are just 114 days away!
Yes, the first '1' of the 114 seems to be slightly dimmed.

Johann came back from Pretoria today and as usual, I fetched him at the airport.
The airport is situated towards the western side of George and we live on the eastern side, close to the Garden Route Dam. Despite this fact, it only takes me about 15 minutes to reach the airport.
(I say this just to make you jealous!)

I cannot help but to think back on the years we stayed in Pretoria. It took me far longer to travel the distance to the Johannesburg Airport.
And then there was the question of finding parking ...

Staying in the country has its advantages. I just hope that this little airport will be able to cope with the numbers once the teams arrive that will be staying over in George.

Last night we had 10mm of light rain - it was glorious.

At this moment, 7.30pm, light rain is falling again, and from where I am sitting, I can hear the water from the down pipes gurgling and bubbling into the newly installed water tanks. It sounds light music with a deep resonance, as the tanks are still virtually empty and the sound of the water collecting at the base gives a bass tinkling sound.
We are thankful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.