Marjorie

As the sun began to set, dropping behind the trees, with dark clouds ominously hanging in the evening twilight - I was with Marjorie.

It was one of those last minute decisions to leave the motorway coming back from Bristol as I'd no blip. Catastrophe! It had taken all afternoon to to sort a phone but at least it is sorted and better than I could have hoped as the Apple shop gave me a new one! Result! Consequently motoring towards Slimbridge and crossing the swing-bridge I spotted this square rigger moored up for the night. A quick u-ey, a jog down the towpath and I went from mayhem to tranquility in minutes!

Standing alone on the towpath of the Sharpness canal I was thankful I'd made this quick detour before heading home. The light started to drop just as I'd got up to her hull; the gulls on the water scudding off was the only noise filtering over the sun kissed water. Magical! Marjorie has been loving restored after a sailing accident on the Isle of Wight in 2007 when she had a large hole in her side. She does look a picture now - just stunning! It was the masts and sails that did it for me tonight almost silhouetted against the rosy glow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.