Nellie Travels

By Padstowbabe

Glorious!

Today it was a "glad to be alive" day as I drove around the countryside. Sometimes I love where I work!

And I was indeed glad to be alive! For a while there has been a beeping noise intermittently which annoys the heck out of me and keeps me awake! I could not find what it was. It sounded like a smoke alarm which needed a new battery so I went round and removed the batteries from the smoke alatrm and the carbon monoxide alarms. The bleeping continued. I sat in the hall at 3am this morning trying to suss out where it was coming from. I traced it to the fuse box in the hall cupboard! I couldn't do anything about it at night so I went back to bed but couldn't sleep for fear that the house would burn down.

In the morning I rang our local electrician who was luckily in the area and came first thing. He was intrigued. Just as he was about to take the casing off the fuse box he said he knew it was a strange question but did we have an old smoke alarm which might be in the fuse box cupboard. I said no but if we did it would be on a certain shelf.......and there it was!!!!!! I felt like such a nutter!!! So it transpires that I was at more risk of dying from smoke inhalation or carbon monoxide poisoning from removing the other batteries than the house burning down!!

Two days ago I stopped and filled my car with diesel only to find I had left my purse on the table at home!!! I had to get a friend to rescue me! I have no idea what is happening to me....must be my age!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.