Tarawera Times

By Megl

Wayne and the maori medicine!

Somedays you never know what your blip will end up being.

This morning I noticed a small boat coming into the ramp, the water looked calm and moody so popped down with my camera.
Ended up having a long chat with Wayne. He had taken his son across the lake to go pig hunting and was returning to his car, this evening he would go back to pick him up. Evidently his 8 year old dog loves hunting and had wanted to go too, but wasn't allowed.

He was such a delightful gentleman and could tell me how he used to work for the council driving the grader on this road when it was still gravel...well before our time here.

As the chat continued I mentioned that I was coming down with a cold, he led me to the nearby kawakawa bush and told me about a traditional maori remedy. You boil up a few handful of the leaves in water for about 10 minutes, strain the liquid and use it as a tea. I had heard about the medicinal uses of this bush but had never tried it. So came home and did as directed and have had a few drinks so far, they taste very pleasant and I am sure that they will help....well if you don't believe how is it going to work!
I got a great shot of him picking the leaves for me which I have loaded on flickr, hard choice of what to Blip.

While I was chatting a couple arrived in their car and got out to take photos. Got chatting with them (again!) and they said they were from just out of Timaru, her name was Maryanne Bridges...I asked did they know fellow blipper rainie, and yes they did...a small world!

And that was the way my morning disappeared!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.