Cumbria Here I Come

By marpaul

Auld Acquaintance Cairn, Gretna

Coincidence this morning I found out about The Auld Acquaintance cairn in Gretna.
Coincidence that I was going to be in the area on the day Scotland said No.
Coincidence that the ITV camera car was there.
Coincidence that Rory Stewart MP was there and we exchanged a few words.

This cairn is huge and if anybody is going to Gretna its worth taking a look and adding a stone to it. People of all nations are invited to place a stone on the cairn. Further information here here
and here

It was not a coincidence when I got home and opened the post to find that Legal & General who I thought I'd renewed my house insurance with a week or so ago had sent me a refund cheque and cancelled my insurance!! I was not amused to say the least! When I opened my mail on Monday after being away for a few days, they'd written to me advising that I hadn't paid the right amount. I checked it and yes they were right, I had obviously looked at the wrong amount and it was about £7 short for some sort of tax. It was not a nice letter, very abrupt and threatening. I phoned them up to give them my credit card details and the girl the other end wanted me to pay the automated way. I said I didn't want to so she said she would transfer me to somebody else. What happened next is that I got the automated way which was wanting to take the full amount, so I just put the phone down and popped a cheque for the shortfall in the mail and then today I found out its been cancelled. I think I can safely say that I have parted company with them!!! ggrrhhh!! rant over :):)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.