Onesmallplanet

By Onesmallplanet

Playing my part

So I thought I was going to rock up to the polling station today and take an exciting photo of loads of people queuing up to vote for the referendum but as you can see it was very quiet. I didn't have to wait at all and it was all over within a couple of minutes. This is the second referendum I have experienced in my lifetime, the first one being the 1995 Quebec referendum to see whether or not Quebec would stay part of Canada or make it's way as it's own country. The first one I wasn't participating in but could only wait in nervous anticipation to see if those of us in the Maritime provinces would be separated from the rest of Canada by the country of Quebec. This one I was able to have my say as someone living in Scotland and of voting age (the last one I would have been too young) It was a bit of a strange day, quieter than I would have thought, gloomy and overcast. There were some teenagers on my street shouting "Vote Yes or die" followed by a man chastising them for being rude and throwing things at an elderly lady. Tension...well we'll know the answer tomorrow whatever, it's just a matter of waiting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.