Old is beautiful

My entry for the September technique challenge 'frame within a frame'.

Booked 4 nights in a B&B in the Lakes yesterday. First weekend of half term. Was planning to spend the rest of the week with Diana in Darlington.

Whatsapp message from Luke this morning - 'dad, can you come to China in November?'. I was daft enough to ask why. Diana knew immediately. Wedding plans for August next year have been moved forward. They want to be married before the baby arrives.

At best, I will be able to get out there for a few days,. I will still be able to go to the Lakes, but my time off with Diana is not going to happen, I'm going to have to sacrifice some leave at Xmas and I will be the only member of the family at the wedding. Not how I had envisgaed it, but wouldn't miss it for the world. Such a shame others won't be able to make it though. For them and for Luke.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.