An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

Murray River starscape

At Echuca/Moama over the weekend for the Echuca Spring swimming carnival – it's N's swimming club's annual social event, where we all descend on the Echuca Aquatic Centre en-masse and take home half the medals... A great weekend, though I didn't take too many photos. I decided to concentrate on practising my star shots (again) and take advantage of a darker sky and the mighty Murray River as a foreground. Compare to this one from my back garden in August (25kms from light polluted Melbourne).

Stitched panorama (It's not easy to take a panorama in the dark, when you can't see a thing through the viewfinder – I just had to keep moving the camera a bit and hoping I wasn't going to be left with a big un-photographed hole in the middle to ruin the whole thing.) It was much darker in reality than this – the light on the river bank is from lights on the grass behind me. Spot me and my tripod in the shadows.

Bigger is better

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.