ONE OF THREE

horses that I had the happy opprtunity to take photos of.
In the morning small jobs, easy ones and done with pleasure. In the meantime there formed a plan to cycle in the afternoon. Not too far for sure!
The weather rather changeable but I feared no rain. And it did not come down.
I cycled to Würgassen, along the Weser. Perhaps I thought, the Virginia creeper will have turned red already, the creeper on a big farm on the grounds of the manege.
When I arrived there, it did not turn out as I had hoped for, but I saw a horse with the head peeping out of a window. As good as a Virginia creeper I thought.
I walked nearer. In the outside box a girl was riding, her mother (?) shouting at her what figure she had to perform.
The horse in the open window had a lovely head, and near this one, but behind bars, another one was there and looked at me too. This one had beautiful eyes and the picture I took of one of the eyes shows me taking the picture.
I started to take pictures and then I saw the car with a trailer for horses attached to it. A man was busy there.
I asked permission to take pictures of the horses and with a slight but friendly smile he said: Natürlich, meaning Of course.
That felt good. I had so often come by there and never had ventured to come on the grounds.
Now I saw a spectacle developping before my eyes. One horse had been led into the trailer but a second one had to step inside too. And this one objected severely.
The man and a young woman were patient with the horse, but it seemed hopeless for a long time to urge the horse inside.
I walked a bit further away, nearing that beautiful big farm with the creeper all over it. The sun almost lit it, in a week the red leaves will look fabulous, I guessed.
And I watched the nudging of the horse. I had a carrot with me, and I almost wanted to help with that, but I better kept out of their way.
Eventually they succeeded and drove away.
Of the three horses the third one had this elegant pose.

My haiku:

If you are afraid
And I am often but not
Always trust if you can

And the proverb:

Truth and oil are ever above.

1620 in Shelton, Quix.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.