Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Blip Drip

Today the weather was great for outdoor photography, if you like the occasional hail storm that is. Great clouds and bursts of sunlight just waiting to be captured out there...

Unfortunately Martine had to go places today, leaving me with the children. I'm not complaining: the things Martine did had to be done today and this is part of the deal when you're married and having children. Besides, when Nienke was at a birthday party, Inge went with Martine and Ellis was sleeping, it was time for some photography experiments!

I set up the camera near the kitchen sink, installed about 300 watts of light and a nifty self-made background and started shooting. One of the shots you can see in this blip. I'm really pleased with it. It does make me want more though: a better lens to get really close and more light to bring the ISO values down even further. This will have to wait until, as we say in Dutch, the ship with money arrives.

Ellis just woke up and I guess it's only fair I get her out of bed quickly after she slept so well and so long, giving me time for experimenting...

Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

edit: I thought this was a well-known 'trick' with drops of water. Apparently not, given your comments... I like all the comments and would like to claim it as my idea, but I need to be honest... The idea was handed to me by my colleague and fellow blipper memos. He found and showed me some amazing work on a Dutch photography site. Check this link for a really amazing example.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.