sp33dway

By sp33dway

Gresford

Gresford - The Miners Hymn.

Today, 80 years ago, the people in our village were rocked by an explosion and 266 men and boys lost their lives in the gresford mining disaster, one of the worst this country has ever born witness to.

The Miner's Hymn was written in memory of all those who lost their lives, and is played at every brass band championships to this day. Every Colliery brass band still plays it as part of their repertoire, and they still play it every year at our local village fete, mudwaters permitting.

My great Uncle Reg was working the pit that day, but swapped shifts with his buddy so he could go and watch a football match. His friend was caught in the blast, and sadly many more of his friends lost their lives too. I vaguely remember asking him about it when I was little after we learned about it at school, but not getting a reply. At the time I put it down to him concentrating on his dominoes or his hearing aid not being turned on, but I'm guessing perhaps not. A few years ago I asked my Gran about it and she told me what happened.

I took myself off to the memorial in the village today and whilst chatting to a cyclist who stopped by to pay his respects and air his lycra we noticed one particular note on the flowers which hit both of us hard. It was written by a man presumably now in his late 80's, but then just a little boy. It read "In fond memory of my Father...", signed "little Joe". And that's just it isn't it. He still is 'his little Joe', a young local boy who's Daddy went to work and never came home again.

Rest in peace fellas. Most of the country may have grown up now and moved on, but around here you'll never be forgotten.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.