Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

The Creaking Doors.....

ARE BACK!!!

At just after 5.00pm tonight there was a flurry of activity outside and within a whisker there were at least 12 Gang Gang Cockatoos all drinking from the bird baths. It's amazing to think they have returned to Wombat Hollow and it's only the 1st of October. Last year they didn't make an appearance until February. Lucky us!! I wasn't quick enough off the mark to capture the 12 all drinking at once, perhaps tomorrow.

The clan has grown and the two males in this image are still growing their striking orange plume. They must be youngsters. I've made it my mission in life to photograph these beautiful creatures as much as possible this summer. I might have to start a Gang Gang Blip Journal!!!

Whenever possible I'm going to set the camera up on a tripod upstairs and lay in wait for them to come down for their late afternoon "Happy Hour". Fingers crossed I can capture some crackers with my new camera.

It's very exciting to start off the second year of blips with the Gang Gangs. I just want to thank everyone who called by yesterday on my 365th Blip Birthday. It was very heartwarming to read your comments and to see my early morning sunrise make onto the Spotlight Page.

This afternoon I was lucky enough to score a cuppa with Mr and Mrs Beckett and their Mum Dulcie. Also hopped into a piece of Wendy's famous slice, hot out of the oven. Thanks for your hospitality team, it was lovely to finally meet Wendy's Mum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.