Music and Friends

Weird old day today. It started oddly when the power went out during breakfast. We were about to head out to the Bellingham Music Club meeting. I called a couple of neighbors to be sure it was not just our house. It wasn't and one neighbor told us there were men not far from here working on power lines. Mystery solved.

Arvin, Helena and I then headed out to the Bellingham Music Club meeting. We went early because there were coffee and goodies on offer before the concert began. I was the "official" photographer this morning so I carted along my best camera and the 70-200mm lens. I walked around during the coffee klatch and took candids of some of the folks there. I really like this shot of Arvin and our friend Helene. She is a sweetie and we all get along famously.

Doing this made me think of all the great people photographers on Blip. Some do really beautiful formal portraits; some do great street people; and others do wonderful candids. I am so impressed with all of you. I do enjoy taking photos of people but find I rarely do. And almost never do I take photos of people I don't know. I like taking candids of those I do know, as in the one here. I would like to do even more but somehow gravitate to wildlife, macro photos and scenes.

But I digress. After the program a big group of us goes out together to lunch. Arvin, Helena and I walked out to our car to drive to the restaurant. Ooops! Flat tire. None of us is very good at fixing tires, or even changing them when it comes to it, so we called Johnson Towing and Dan arrived to rescue us. Next stop Les Schwab. Turns out all our tires were pretty ratty. So we got new ones, another unexpected expense to add to our list. Okay Universe. That's enough of that!

While we waited we ate our own lunch out at Avenue Bread. It was yummy and we enjoyed each other's company. But we did miss the usual gathering of music club buddies to chat with. Ah well. We'll do that next month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.