Hanneke

By DreamThinkDo

Whale tail tale

In early summer, southern right whales congregate along the Cape coast to give birth. Hermanus is one of the best spots for whale watching, and the town has its own whale crier, who blows on a piece of sea bamboo when a whale is spotted. The town also hosts an annual Whale Festival, which took place this weekend.

Although we didn't spot any whales there, we were treated to a troupe of acrobats, who performed in several locations.

Lunch was a huge amount of prawns in Pearly Beach. We went to the small harbour after lunch, where I took some pics surrounded by rotting bamboo - an absolutely disggusting smell, in case you wondered. We were on the point of leaving when I spotted my very first whales, and the two of them put on a delightful show. I'm still smiling at the memory.

My 200 mm lens was certainly not long enough, but better than nothing, I suppose. I also discovered with much wailing - no pun intended - and gnashing of teeth, a speck of dust on my sensor. Have to find somebody to clean it for me, so you may have to put up with some spotty images for a while. There certainly is nobody in the village to do it for me.

Today's word for Chantler's October word challenge, is Dark. This dark tail of the whale is my contribution.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.