Sunset Looking East

Our view over Lake Whatcom faces east. So when there is a beautiful sunset, we get the afterglow on the hills behind the lake and on the iconic tree that sits in our view. To me this glow is so beautiful. It is more subtle than what is probably off to the west, but just as beautiful. Tonight we had a view like that. (Large)

We headed off to hear the Whatcom Symphony Orchestra today. We arrived at the Mt. Baker Theater and there was a gathering of folks dressed for a concert. However, when we got to the door we discovered that I had made a mistake. Our concert is next Sunday. Today's concert was Branford Marcellus. We'd have loved to see him, but that is not the tickets we had. I felt a bit foolish as I'd carefully written today's date in my calendar. Now I'm wondering where I got that date.

Instead of heading right home, we went to several art studios and had a great time talking to some of Bellingham's artist. This weekend and next are the Bellingham Artist Studio Weekends and many artists are in their studios ready to show their work and talk with the public. We had planned to go both days next weekend but now we'll be going to the symphony on Sunday. Life has a way of taking turns you don't expect. Luckily Dave and Nora were flexible as they were planning to come up Sunday to tour some studios. Now they are coming Saturday.

This mistake makes me think of an even bigger one I once made along the same lines. I went to a class on the wrong weekend. It was work related and involved flying to another city. Boy was I embarrassed when I had to call my boss and explain what had happened. I had to pay for my flight too. That was the day I realized it was totally impossible to be perfect. I had blown it so royally that that goal was not even on the table. It was one of the best things that ever happened to me. Goodbye perfectionism. Hello enjoying what I did for its own sake and being more flexible and kinder to myself. It was a good learning experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.